Powdered ginger, crystalized ginger and organic lemon

My co-worker Louise has requested a recipe for some cookies I brought to work during the holidays. Like many of my favorite recipes, I have fond memories attached so must share. Many many years ago my best friend and neighbor Brenda gave me this recipe after I had the pleasure of tasting more than a few of these gems. Now to say she was a friend and neighbor way understates the importance she had in my life. I had no idea about the many skills it takes to be a great mom. One of them is to relax. We would take walks and I would air my frustrations and worries. She would say something like “he or she will not be doing that when they go off to college”…something like that. Or, “we have great kids, they can make good decisions, they don’t act that way at my house……..they are always well-behaved here”. Well, I would take a deep breath and say a big prayer and try to let my anxieties melt away, cookies helped.  So we spent many hours together since both our husbands worked at night. We had impromptu meals together, watched each other’s kids, movies and later listened to the stories and songs our kids were creating together. We are still great friends, share recipes and enjoy our grown kids who are still very close. I have to make the cookies myself now as I moved across the city. I miss those days of wandering over to Brenda’s house for a cup of coffee, hot cookies and a good long chat.

This recipe combines two of my favorite flavors, lemon and ginger…….Yumilicious with a little kick

Last year I decided to add some sliced candied ginger on top in a little criss-cross decoration . I am not much on spending  time on tedious sticky projects but the extra time did add a fancy look to the top. The next time I made the cookies  I was in a hurry so I just added a little chopped sugared ginger into the recipe, that is how Louise had them. Either way the candied ginger adds a nice texture and a little more spiciness.

Lemon Ginger Cookies

Combine:

1 1/2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup of unbleached white flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon zested lemon rind (organic if possible)

Beat until fluffy and light:

3/4 cup of butter

3/4 cup of brown sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup of molasses

about 1/4 cup of fine sugar for rolling the cookies in before baking

Makes quite a few, next time I’ll count. I think about 30 or so but don’t hold me to it

Take one level tablespoon of dough and roll it into fine sugar (i use a small scoop so it’s a little more than a tablespoon)

place on un-greased cookie sheet and flatten just a bit leaving about 1 1/2 “- 2” apart

optional: add two thinly sliced pieces of candied ginger crisscrossed on top or approximately 1/4 cup of chopped crystallized ginger (too much makes them a bit heavy) I have purchased the ginger in larger pieces that I sliced down for the criss-cross tops or smaller  pieces for adding to the dough.

Bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees

I love my citrus reamer, zester and 1 1/4 " cookie scoop

